CofC Logo

Faculty and Staff Listing

Director

Kris De Welde

Office: 7 College Way, Room 100
Phone: 843.953.7594
E-mail: deweldek@cofc.edu

Associate Director

Christy Kollath-Cattano

Office: Silcox, Room 319
Phone: 843.953.5565
E-mail: kollathcattanocl@cofc.edu

Administrative Assistant

Percival Haas

Office: 7 College Way, Room 100
Phone: 843.953.2280
E-mail: haasse@cofc.edu


Adjunct Faculty

Name Areas of Expertise Phone Email
Kristi Brian Intersectional perspectives on environmental racism, political economy of the family (transnational/transracial adoption), feminist perspectives on mass incarceration, critical methods for social justice dialogue 843.953.5079 briankj@cofc.edu
Meg Goettsches

Global feminisms, violence and Africa, women and Africa, Queer communities and spaces in Africa, Gender-based violence in campus settings, impactful activism, intersectional feminism discourses, social justice

843.953.7682 goettschesms@cofc.edu
Sarah Holihan-Smith Women's health, pregnancy and childbirth, mothering and sexuality, ethnic birth disparities, Gullah Geechee culture and history, African American women’s fiction, Womanism, gender, sexuality and identity 843.953.0756 holihansmiths@cofc.edu
Amy Hudock hudocka@cofc.edu
Jane Nielsen 843.953.5738 nielsenj@cofc.edu
Ashley Wendt Maternal and Child Health, Women's Health, International Development, Social Determinants of Health, Health Equity, Nonprofit Management, Program Evaluation, Program Development, Grant Writing wendtam@cofc.edu

Visiting Assistant Faculty

Ian Sullivan Cross-Cultural Philosophy, Chinese Philosophy, Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Feminist and LGBTQ+ Philosophy 843.953.5687 sullivanim@cofc.edu

Affiliated Faculty*

* information on the affiliation process located at the bottom of the page.
Name Department Areas of Expertise Phone Email
Appler, Vivian Theatre & Dance Women, performance, science; feminist theatre and performance; feminist and postcolonial performances of global and planetary policy 843.953.6306

applervr@cofc.edu

Avendano, Nadia Hispanic Studies Latin American women writers, Latina and Chicana women writers, Chican@ & Latinx studies 843.953.5364 avendanon@cofc.edu
Bakanic, Von Sociology & Anthropology Gender prejudices, intersectionality, social psychology 843.953.7105 bakanicv@cofc.edu
Beck, Emily Hispanic Studies 843.953.5412 becke@cofc.edu
Beres Rogers, Kathleen English 843.953.5664 rogerskb@cofc.edu
Bidwell, Deb Biology 843.953.7107 bidwelld@cofc.edu
Birrer, Doryjane English Affect theory and intersubjectivity, feminist and queer narratology, literature and trauma studies, contemplative studies/radicalizing contemplative education 843.953.4916 birrerd@cofc.edu
Borg, Barbara Sociology 843.953.5738 borgb@cofc.edu
Boyle, Deborah Philosophy 843.953.7810 boyled@cofc.edu
Bruns, John English Film, feminist film theory, gender & sexuality in film 843.953.4957 brunsj@cofc.edu
Carens, Tim English

19th-century British literature, Victorian novels and film adaptations, representation of gender, feminist and queer interpretations, Gothic literature, Jane Austen, Oscar Wilde, the Brontës, and other specific writers

carenst@cofc.edu
Collins-Frohlich, Jesslyn English collinsfrohlichjr@cofc.edu
Coseru, Christian Philosophy 843.953.1935 coseruc@cofc.edu
Coy, Jason History 843.953.8273 coyj@cofc.edu
Crabtree, Mari African American Studies Black radical feminism, intersectionality, racial violence crabtreemn@cofc.edu
Curtis, Claire Political Science Feminist utopia, feminist legal theory, theories of justice, sexual harassment  843.953.6510 curtisc@cofc.edu
Day, Chris Political Science 843.953.6617 dayc@cofc.edu
Delay, Cara History Reproduction, women's health, women's history, gender history 843.953.7597 delayc@cofc.edu
Divine, Susan Hispanic Studies Women writers, gender construction, urban theory, contemporary Spain divinesm@cofc.edu
Doire, Louise Religious Studies Women and religion, religion and feminism, feminist biblical critique 843.953.5939 doirel@cofc.edu
Eichelberger, Julia English 843.953.5646 eichelbergerj@cofc.edu
Erman, Irina German & Russian Studies Gender & sexuality in Russian culture, vampires 843.953.8063 ermanim@cofc.edu
Farrell, Susan English Contemporary women writers, gender and literature, women and war 843.953.5785 farrells@cofc.edu
Ferrara, Merissa Communication 843.953.6788 ferraramh@cofc.edu
Ford, Lynne Political Science Women in politics, political representation of women, political ambition gap 843.953.6531 fordl@cofc.edu
France, Hollis Political Science 843.953.6324 franceh@cofc.edu
Frazier, Valerie English 843.953.1921 frazierv@cofc.edu
Garrett, Vicki  Hispanic Studies garrettvl@cofc.edu
Hough, Sheridan Philosophy 843.953.5681 houghs@cofc.edu
Hughes, Melissa Biology Women in STEM, function & evolution of female aggression and sexual behavior 843.953.6557 hughesm@cofc.edu
Ingram, Tammy History 843.953.1915 ingramt@cofc.edu
Kollath-Catano, Christy Health & Human Performance Gender and health 843.953.5558 kollathcattanocl@cofc.edu
Korey, Chris Biology Genetics & medicine, genetic technologies, social and ethical issues of genetics, personal genome sequencing 843.953.7178 koreyc@cofc.edu
Lacroix, Celeste Communication 843.953.5654 lacroixc@cofc.edu
Lewis, Simon English African women writers (particularly Zimbabwean, South African, & Nigerian writers) 843.953.1920 lewiss@cofc.edu
Mazzone, Marian Art History 843.953.7165 mazzonem@cofc.edu
McKinnon, Rachel Philosophy 843.953.1719 mckinnonr@cofc.edu
McReynolds-Perez, Julia Sociology & Anthropology Sexualities, global feminist movements, Latin American reproductive rights activism mcreynoldsperezja@cofc.edu
Nunan, Richard Philosophy Gender & film, LGBTQ film, feminist legal theory, feminist philosophy 843.953.6522 nunanr@cofc.edu
Owens, Sarah Hispanic Studies Early Modern Hispanic women writers, Colonial Latin American women writers, health and healing 843.953.7186 owenss@cofc.edu
Pollack, Harriet English The body in Southern literature and culture, women's body in fiction and photography, whiteness & race in the fiction of Eudora Welty, 20th C Southern literature, literature of the Civil Rights era pollackh@cofc.edu
Poole, Scott History 843.953.4862 poolews@cofc.edu
Quinn, E. Moore Sociology & Anthropology Language and gender, language and power, language and minorities, linguistic ideologies, sex and power 843.953.7306 quinne@cofc.edu
Ravalico, Lauren French, Francophone, & Italian Studies Women's history in France, French women writers 843.953.4964 ravalicold@cofc.edu
Ross, Lisa Thomson Psychology Psychology of gender, feminist identity development, sexual assault, sex education, mental health 843.953.6776 rossl@cofc.edu
Scott-Copses, Meg English 843.953.5664 scottcopsesm@cofc.edu
Seaman, Myra English Medieval women's literature and culture, feminist theoretical approaches, domestic/household economy 843.953.5760 seamanm@cofc.edu
Segal, Oren 843.953.7585 segalo@cofc.edu
Signori, Lisa French, Francophone, & Italian Studies 843.953.0872 signoril@cofc.edu
Slater, Sandra History American gender and sexuality, Early America, Early Modern Atlantic World 843.953.3622 slaters@cofc.edu
Sundstrom, Beth Communication Women's reproductive health, reproductive justice, health communication, social marketing 843.953.7599 sundstrombl@cofc.edu
Wallace, Kymberly 843.953.5558 wallacekl@cofc.edu
Welch, Allison Biology 843.953.5451 welcha@cofc.edu
Winfield, Idee Sociology Gender employment inequalities, gendered organizations, intersectionality 843.953.4899 winfieldi@cofc.edu
Wofford, Claire Political Science Gender and law/courts, gender and politics 843.953.5217 woffordcb@cofc.edu
Worzala, Elaine Business 843.953.5627 worzalae@cofc.edu
Zeiner-Carmichael, Noelle Classics 843.953.8062 carmichaeln@cofc.edu

Affiliate with WGS

In Grateful Memory:

Allison Piepmeier. Timothy Carmichael.